I shot and killed a water moccasin

I saw it crossing the path several days in a row at my mothers property in Alabama.If that section of paper towel is six inches from the perforation to the edge, then this snake head is an inch and a half across at the venom sacks.

About jtm57

New Orleans artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I shot and killed a water moccasin

  1. Ian Breland says:

    there was no reason whatsoever to kill that snake. you could’ve just let it mind it’s own business and you could’ve minded yours. not something to be proud of…

    • jtm57 says:

      I hope you can understand how dangerous a snake of this size can be. When this happened I was expecting guests including small dogs and children. This snake was seen by myself and others crossing the path that the guests would be using several times a day. This was enough reason for me, altho what I am proud of is the shot I made to kill it. We didn’t have a shotgun or any snakeshot for the .22 so I had to use a regular bullet. Even at only 20 feet the backbone of a snake is a small target, and snakes move fast. I stalked the snake across the lawn trying to get as close as possible. I did not want the snake to suffer. On the first shot it’s head nearly came off! I am proud of having the courage to do the right thing even in the face of idiots like you standing there telling me I was doing the wrong thing. That’s right, some of my guests did not approve and made that very clear thorough out the entire ordeal. Later that very night they were gleefully dropping live crabs in the boiling pot. I hope you come to understand my point of view, but I don’t really care very much.

Leave a comment